Department Logo for Earth, Planetary, and Space Sciences

EPSSSO

EPSSSO is the Earth, Planetary and Space Sciences Student Organization. During a typical year we host several traditional gatherings, and also provide guidance to students applying to grad school or their first large fellowships. We also oversee graduate and undergraduate student representatives who serve on several faculty committees, and are responsible for designing and buying department merch.

The Board:

President

Oversees the EPSSSO Board and is ultimately responsible for ensuring that

EPSSSO programming runs smoothly.

Max Parks maxparks@g.ucla.edu


VP of Student Affairs

In charge of representing the interests of EPSSSO and the student body to

the department. This often means coordinating with the student

representatives of the various faculty committees.

Hannah Tandy htandy1234@g.ucla.edu


VP of Event Planning

Responsible for organizing EPSSSO social & professional events.

Traditionally, this includes things like the Holiday Party, Spring Picnic,

Student Research Symposium, etc.

Kyle Webster kweb@ucla.edu


VP of Fundraising

Responsible for EPSSSO finances and is in charge of fundraising activities

and collecting money. This often includes organizing the T-shirt design

contest and ordering Merch.

Joseph Lewis-Merrill stellarremnants@g.ucla.edu


Undergraduate Representative

The voice of undergraduate membership on EPSSSO. In charge of communication

with the undergaduate students and oversees the undergraduate curriculum

committee representative.

Grace Elias grace.elias72@gmail.com


Treasurer

Responsible for EPSSSO finances, reimburements, etc.

Joseph Lewis-Merrill stellarremnants@g.ucla.edu


The Reps:

Faculty Meeting

A lot of administrative and faculty topics are discussed, some of which

affect the students. This role is our way of staying in touch with what is

going on in the department and our way of advocating for our interests.

Jaahnavee Venkatraman jaahnavee96@g.ucla.edu


Graduate Student Relations

A committee specifically for graduate student issues. This includes things

like graduate admissions, awards, etc.

Elisha Jhoti ejhoti@ucla.edu


Curriculum Committee (graduate)

A committee specifically for issues related to class offerings. We have a

rep for both graduate and undergraduate students.

Zijin Zhang zijin@ucla.edu


Curriculum Committee (undergraduate)

A committee specifically for issues related to class offerings. We have a

rep for both graduate and undergraduate students.

Grace Elias grace.elias72@gmail.com

MATH AND PHYSICAL SCIENCES COUNCIL


Representatives 

Represents grad students in Chem, AOS, Math/Stat, Phys/Astro, and EPSS.

They send reps to GSA forum meetings, where policies that affect all grad

students are voted on. MPSC also hosts interdepartmental social events,

like Keg Race.

Hayley Bricker hbricker@g.ucla.edu

Megan Li megangrace@g.ucla.edu

Joseph Lewis-Merrill stellarremnants@g.ucla.edu


EVENT PLANNING COMMITTEE

Join if you'd like to help plan EPSSSO programming!

Hayley Bricker hbricker@g.ucla.edu

Hannah Tandy htandy1234@g.ucla.edu

Union Stewards

Join if you'd like to help plan EPSSSO programming!

Saeed Mohanna saeedmohanna@g.ucla.edu

Lizet Casillas lizetcasillas@ucla.edu