Department Logo for Earth, Planetary, and Space Sciences

Geophysics and Space Physics

The Geophysics and Space Physics program offers study in Earth's interior (seismology, gravity, thermal regime, geomagnetism, tectonics), geophysical fluid dynamics (turbulence, rotating systems, stability, hydromagnetism), nonlinear dynamics, planetology (orbital dynamics, planetary interiors, surfaces and atmospheres, solar-system origin), and space physics (magnetosphere, radiation belts, solar wind, magnetic fields, cosmic rays). Many of our faculty are interdisciplinary in their research. These faculty below have research interests in the disciplines covered in our graduate program in Geophysics and Space Physics (G&SP). Although our Geophysics and Space Physics emeriti faculty do not directly advise graduate students, they provide a valuable resource in student research.
Program Admission Requirements (Grad Division Site)

Faculty In Geophysics and Space Physics

Name Title Email
Vassilis Angelopoulos Professor
Jonathan Aurnou Professor
Caroline Beghein Professor
Paul Davis Professor Emeritus
Mackenzie Day Assistant Professor
David Jewitt Distinguished Professor
Abby Kavner Professor
Margaret Kivelson Professor Emerita
Carolina Lithgow-Bertelloni Department Chair & Professor - Louis B. and Martha B. Slichter Endowed Chair in Geosciences
Jean-Luc Margot Professor
Robert McPherron Professor Emeritus
Jonathan Mitchell Professor
William Newman Professor
David Paige Professor
Gilles Peltzer Professor
Christopher Russell Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Hilke Schlichting Professor & Associate Dean for Research
Gerald Schubert Professor Emeritus
Lars Stixrude Professor
Marco Velli Professor
Ray Walker Professor Emeritus